SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What is this 'flare' around Vega?

I've recently gotten a new Skywatcher 200pds and whilst testing it out i noticed this weird 'flare' around the star. My best guess is that it is something to do with collumation and because this is my first newtonian im new to this process. I don't know how to get rid of it.

Anyone know and can help?

Thanks 

Vega (2).jpg

Edited by _steffastrostuff_
uploaded wrong file

My take is that it looks to me as though the secondary is a fair distance away from where it should be. One edge is deep in the light cone, and its rough-ish edge is causing all that extra diffraction. And the other side of it is way outside the light-cone,  therefore causing no diffraction at the other side. Those two extra gaps are 120 degrees apart, which suggests that 2 of the 3 mirror clips are causing them.

M

• Like 1

On 26/10/2020 at 11:05, _steffastrostuff_ said:

I've recently gotten a new Skywatcher 200pds and whilst testing it out i noticed this weird 'flare' around the star. My best guess is that it is something to do with collumation and because this is my first newtonian im new to this process. I don't know how to get rid of it.

Anyone know and can help?

Thanks 

Vega (2).jpg

It's the focus tube pushing back into the light path a common issue when imaging with the PDS range. 

10 minutes ago, _steffastrostuff_ said:

Is there a way to correct this without cutting up my scope?

Sorry, No! :crybaby2:

But, seriously, it's most likely a straight forward collimation issue - the alignment of the mirrors.

Collimation is a skill that Newtonian owners eventually learn or they sell their scope! I think a fair few have taken option 2 over the years.