Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best binoculars for stargazing absolute beginner around $200?

Hi fellas, sorry if this question is a copy of what's been asked before, so I am going to jump into stargazing journey and looking for a great binoculars around $200. I've read that the magnification must be at least 10x and that the Porro prism is better than the Roof prism. I really like Vortex Crossfire HD 12x50 but it has the roof prism. Any experience with those for stargazing? Which binocs would you recommend? I've also been looking for Celestron Skymaster series but reviews were so-so. Thanks for your input! 

Here's another round-up. If you want to use them handheld, 10x magnification is about the maximum. 10x50's, 8x42's or 7x50's are very convenient for stargazing (although the exit pupil on the 7x50 is a bit large).

I have a pair of Nikon Action Ex 10x50 and I really love them, great performance and - although not the lightest in its class - easy to hold steady. I think they can be found for around or under $200 but I'm not familiar with US prices.

I recently bought the Opticron Adventurer T WP 10x50s following the advice on the binocularsky site, and am very happy with them. I also bought the bracket to attach them to any standard photo tripod screw, which makes it easy to hold the binoculars steady . I already had a monopod to use as a support, but If you don't have one already (or a tripod ) you may wish to factor the cost in.

• Like 1

On 20/10/2020 at 00:07, deniamnet said: