Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Having problems with Wizard Nebula

Jm1973

Hi Everyone. 

I am quite new to image processing, but with the help of this forum I have managed to get a reasonable image of ANdromeda recently. So bouyed with this small success I decided to take a shot (no pun intended) at Wizard Nebula. Using AstorTortilla I managed to get it pretty much centred in my sights, and took 60 subs at 60 seconds each before the clouds arrived. I also took 25 darks, 25 bias and 30 flats. I registered and stacked them in APP. But when I stretched them there was a very prominent red ring present, that I have struggled to remove as it is a very similar colour to the nebulosity I am trying to bring out.

In fact in order to get the nebulosity to show at all, I have to stretch the image so much that the gradients are overpowering as are the stars. I have not had much luck clearing it up with either 'correct vignetting' or 'remove light pollution' in APP, and I've also not had much luck with removing the stars before stretching. 

Does anyone who is good at this sort of stuff fancy taking a look at my stacked fits image and see if anything can be done with it, or whether I should try stacking it differently? I don't want to spendanother evening messing about in PS, GIMP, APP etc. if it's a lost cause.  I know there is data there as I can see the nebulosity when thoroughly stretched, but I can't seem to get to it without ruining the image. This is after stacking, then stretching, in APP. I'm not sure what caused the purple banding.

Capture.PNG.49c34c845734ea5c2ff96b545c538264.PNG

Here is a link to the FITS file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/4g46xszfuf4zlw2/Wizard_Nebula-RGB-session_1.fits?dl=0

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Jm1973

19 minutes ago, alacant said:

Hi

Go through all the light frames and remove all those that have cloud or any other imperfection. Then stack again.

Any better?

HTH