SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Problem with Eyepiece

SpaceFinatic

Hey, newbie here. I want to thank anyone in  advance for helping me. I recently bought an accessory kit for my 12” telescope, which came with 1.25” eyepieces and filters. However, when I went out to use them, the image I got was very blurry and white. Saturn didn’t show to have rings, and Jupiter was just big and white. My telescope has a focal length of 1500mm and I used the 6, 8, and 13 mm eyepiece, but got fairly the same view. I am old of age, so any one who can help will be appreciated, thanks.

• Confused 1

You have a 12" telescope which is enough to view anything with any eyepiece, so I don't know what is going on. Maybe you haven't focused your telescope properly?

Nice telescope,

Edited by Spacecake2
  • Like 1

4 hours ago, SpaceFinatic said:

Hey, newbie here. I want to thank anyone in  advance for helping me. I recently bought an accessory kit for my 12” telescope, which came with 1.25” eyepieces and filters. However, when I went out to use them, the image I got was very blurry and white. Saturn didn’t show to have rings, and Jupiter was just big and white. My telescope has a focal length of 1500mm and I used the 6, 8, and 13 mm eyepiece, but got fairly the same view. I am old of age, so any one who can help will be appreciated, thanks.

Have you checked the collimation ?

• Like 1

Can you get focus on distant objects (say over 1/2 a mile) during the day?

Other than the eyepiece there's no other tubes (barlow or anything else) in the focuser, is there?

Presumably you've moved the focuser all the way from fully in, to fully out, and still can't get a sharp focus?  When you've got the focuser all the way out, try undoing the eyepiece and gently move it outwards whilst looking through the eyepiece. Can you now get focus?  (I'm wondering if there just isn't enough travel on the focuser for some reason).