SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Dark sky maps/sites

Hi this is my second post on SGL and I am new to astronomy. As my post suggests I am looking for a dark sky map/website ect. I have found some but I wondered if there is a really good one that has a lot of detail.

I live in Hampshire and I'm trying to find the perfect spot to jump in the car to. I obviously have some places in mind but want to compare them.

Actually just writing this has gave me an idea and another question! Maybe try some of my spots out with a light meter. Has anyone else done this? Is it worth it? Okay 2 new questions! 

I look forward to hearing from you. 

Ps I just brought my first scope and it was cloudy 🙄

Kind regards Kyle 

Hi Kyle, 

I am not aware of any specific online sites listing dark observing sites. Good Dark sites can be difficult to come by and the location of ones that people use are generally closely guarded. It is very dependant on your location and quite how far you are willing to travel.

Some sites that initially seem ideal can have issues with undesirables turning up in the dark for activities that are in no way related to astronomy 🙄

Have you joined an Astronomy Society near to you? That would be a good start. They will most likely have sites that they use for viewing nights. Also members may have their own sites that they are willing to share with you

This website shows the darkness of the night sky calculated from artificial light emission measured by satellites (use the World Atlas 2015 layer). It's good to get a rough idea of the darkness, but keep in mind that the data is from 2015 and a lot (a LED 😏) has changed since then. Here in The Netherlands, there are a few websites and forums where you can find and share dark sites that are easily accessible - including recent darkness measurements. Not sure about the UK.