Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

PowerShield

gilesco

That's interesting, I was thinking about if it was possible to build something like this. Basically a Pi and Pegasus Powerbox all in one.

The only thing that seems to be lacking is for auto focusers, he does state it's for Astroberry/Stellarmate but there's no INDI driver so will it work under EKOS?

Just now, MarkAR said:

That's interesting, I was thinking about if it was possible to build something like this. Basically a Pi and Pegasus Powerbox all in one.

The only thing that seems to be lacking is for auto focusers, he does state it's for Astroberry/Stellarmate but there's no INDI driver so will it work under EKOS?

No, the guy who built the ECAD/MCAD files says he's not too good with software development, only hardware development. I'm not too good with either, but probably better with software and I'm OK with Linux and the Raspberry Pi, so I'm sure I'd be able to get the GPS to connect to GPSD INDI driver, and I reckon I could get a python / RRDscript to graph the Temperature / Humidity / Pressure sensors, might be able to python something using the generic INDI weather driver.

Similarly for the 12V outputs / PWM DEW heater outputs, could probably easily do some python to control these via the web interface on Astroberry.

As for Focusers - the Astroberry INDI drivers can take care of that.

10 minutes ago, MarkAR said:

Looks like a similar idea. Once it gets to the stage where it can replace the Pegasus completely I'll be up for one. 

Yes, I'm sure it is modelled with it in mind. As I used a Pi4 I need a 3A USB power port, so to consider a Pegasus it looks like I would need the Advance model, which is a good £100 step up from the ordinary Powerbox PPB, so too much for me, this one as a hat can power the Pi4 via the GPIO, everything looks cleaner and more compact in one box (for the way I want to work).

• Like 1

3 hours ago, gilesco said: