Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Attaching a camera to a Meade LX600 14" ACF?

I have access to one of these telescopes, and I'm trying to sort out a camera for it.  The scope comes with a 1.25" adapter for eyepieces, but what is needed to connect a camera directly to it? Specifically I am looking to connect the ZWO 2600MC to it, which needs a 2" adapter?  I've little experience with an SCT, but hoping to become a lot more familiar with it.

Any pointers welcome, no matter how simple it may seem.

LX600 ACF™ Telescope - 14" f/8

https://www.meade.com/lx600-acf-14-f-8.html

HI Adam

When I used my 10" Meade SCT for photography I used a 2" Baader Clicklock for Meade SCT..  assuming this fits the lx600 you'll also need an M42 to 2" nosepiece and maybe some spacers....   I have to say that my 20 year old SCT was plagued by mirror flop, coma and a poor focuser..  after much wasted money and effort I bought a refractor or three  :) .. Hopefully you'll have more success. 

Dave

7 minutes ago, Laurin Dave said:

HI Adam

When I used my 10" Meade SCT for photography I used a 2" Baader Clicklock for Meade SCT..  assuming this fits the lx600 you'll also need an M42 to 2" nosepiece and maybe some spacers....   I have to say that my 20 year old SCT was plagued by mirror flop, coma and a poor focuser..  after much wasted money and effort I bought a refractor or three  :) .. Hopefully you'll have more success. 

Dave

Thanks Dave for the reply!  You really have tried a lot of stuff :D

The aim is to undertake live viewing/stacking of images, rather than proper deep sky imaging.  The camera should come with a 2" nosepiece, and this would fit into the baader clicklock.  What spacing is needed?  I was considering a FR too and I've been getting solid advice from Vlad @vlaiv on this. 

1 hour ago, Davey-T said:

Quote from Lucas APT post.

Dave

1184474283_APTCCD.PNG.2037129e697aa50f6962f9783d77dbb8.PNG