Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

TOP TEN

Hi All

I am a complete novice with only a couple of hours viewing under my belt. Excluding the moon and planets, what would you recommend as the top 10 objects for me to look for to show a variety of things, (clusters, galaxies etc) and increase my knowledge of the skies and using my equipment. I have an Explorer 130 PM and will be usiing RA/Dec settings which I will be taking from Stelarium. Thanks in advance.

Terry

Started to create a similar spreadshhet, want to have a list of things and record how well they appeared in different optics. Various binoculars and small scopes.

This is the first 10 or so that I started with.

Name Designation

Orion Nebulea M42/M43

Andromeda M31

Alberio Double star

Pleiades M45

Crab Nebulea M1

Open Cluster M41

Galaxy: Ursa Major M82

Galaxy: Ursa Major M81

Mizor/Alcor Double Star

Whirlpool Galaxy M51

Globular Cluster M31

Haven't done much with it in the last couple of months = cloud and cold.

Good idea to have a list of targets. You will probably struggle to see the Crab in a small scope unless you have excellent skies. The list could do with a couple of planetary nebulae IMO. The best (and easiest to see) are the Dumbell (M27) and the Ring (M57).

Enjoy the hunt.

Cheers, Martin

I made my list based on known objects, then I record if the view is good, fair, poor, bad. I find it is good to have an idea of what I can see with the various bits of equipment.

If you want a list of objects that are easy to see then that would be different, since as dogfish says some will not be easy, included Crab as people know of it.

One thing that is not there is the simple single stars. They can be very different and it could be interesting to have half a dozen in a list to show the differences. Compare Betelgeuse to Sirius for colour.

Forget which is the variable star up there that has a short period of variability.