NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What to buy as a 1st Astrophotoprahy setup ?

Sorry people this has probably been asked many times, but I would appreciate some help!

I'm completely new to all of this - I'd like to buy some basic but capable equipment to start with  

Budget is around £500-£600 

Question is:

Skywatcher Explorer 200p + EQ5 mount VS Celestron Astromaster 130EQ 

If I buy the 200p, I'll probably just start out by taking long exposure pictures on it, with my iPhone! 

If I get the 130EQ, I'd have enough money to buy a budget DSLR as well. 

What would you suggest as my first setup?? How much better is the EQ5 mount compared to the CG3 mount? 

Thanks in advance :) 

I started with a second hand 200p and eq5 with loads of bits and bobs, quickly modified it to GOTO, followed by filter wheel, cooled camera, guide scope, new telescope, then new mount! Good luck, you cant go wrong with the 200p to learn with, robust, easy to use and a good learning tool, but expect to start acquiring more stuff. It can be problematic in any kind of breeze due to its size.

Hi Kenboy, welcome to the forum. Are you interested in deep sky astrophotography or planets? If it’s deep sky astrophotography you are interested in, have you considered something like a Star Adventurer mount? This will leave you some money for a camera and lenses and will be easier to learn with than a long focal length telescope, though obviously you can’t observe with it if that is what you are also planning! 🙂

Second that. Deep sky is a lot harder than you would think; those long exposures mean that any imperfections in the mount wind up very visible in the images. So the classic advice is to go short and fast on the optical train, which means shorter exposures and less magnification of errors, and then plow the money saved into the best mount you can afford. Fast prime camera lenses are a GREAT way to get started, there are plenty of targets which are good at 200mm or less.