Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Electric focuser

I use Sharpcap and an SW focusser and also find it works well. I've also used the SW with SGPro auto focus and had little success and wasted a lot of imaging time - probably me getting the settings wrong in SGPro.

I recently purchased a ZWO EAF to use with my ZWO ASIair and it works a treat - very nicely made and excellent results.

Both my motorised focus units are connected to the scope/lens via a toothed belt so I have no experience of direct connections.

HTH

IMG_9914.jpg

IMG_9915.jpg

Edited by Adreneline
Photos added

3 minutes ago, Andy274 said:

Hmmm OK, I've never seen a belt driven motor focuser before.

And now you've seen two in one day! :) 

Top one is the ZWO EAF on a Canon 200mm lens.

Bottom one is a SW focusser on a SW ED80DS-Pro fitted with a Baader Diamond Steeltrack replacement focus unit.

Edited by Adreneline
Clarification
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, Adreneline said:

IMG_9915.jpg

Is that the original Baader motor? I was thinking of making a belt driven one for mine but didn’t know the spec of the teeth to order belts and a pulley for the motor end

Edited by haitch

27 minutes ago, haitch said:

Is that the original Baader motor?

Hi.

The motor itself is the Sykwatcher motor. The focus unit is the Baader and is unmodified. I purchased a toothed pully from Motionco along with a suitable belt. As it turns out the teeth on the Baader unit are an exact match for the toothed belt. The motor mount is custom 3D printed to fit the Baader and allow me to mount the motor. The whole thing works a treat with the HitecAstro software combined with Sharpcap. I am sure the problems with SGPro are all down to me but I am happy with the semi-auto procedure I use and I certainly waste less imaging time.

HTH - let me know if you need anymore details.

Adrian

That's excellent - my C11 

1 hour ago, Adreneline said:

Hi.