NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Where to start...

Gimboid

Hello one and all

A total beginner here who is looking for a bit of advice... I'm sure my questions have been asked many times but I can assure you that I have been doing some research before posting but at the moment I am finding it all a bit hard to digest. 

I currently have a telescope although for the life of me I can't remember exactly what it is.. haven't used it much at all and it is currently packed away..  It is a Skywatcher... a 150 something on what I believe is a eq3-2 mount    that's best I got with out looking at it 😛As I said, I haven't used it a lot and when I have it's usually staring at the moon or towards Orion but I am quite happy with the minimal progress that I have made so far. Lately I have been reading about various sites including this one plus trawling through youtube and right now I am very interested in having a go at astrophotography but knowing myself as well as I do I want to start very basic and simple.. more from a cost pov tbh. Have found in the past I have ideas, spend money and find that im not as interested as I thought and it becomes a waste of money and it's something I want to try and avoid for a change.

So.. dslr, which one to start with? I know opinions vary but after a couple evenings of reading I am very much under the impression that a Canon of sorts is a safe route to take and after reading and watching various videos I have come up with an idea of a EOS 450D and a EF 50mm f1.8 II Lens both of which happen to be on WEX.. I had started of looking on Ebay/Gumtree etc but after reading a few posts on here then started looking on a few proper sites with the idea being you have a better idea of what you are buying plus a bit of warranty.