Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SHO vs BiColour

I'm relatively new to narrow band imaging and have just produced my first SHO image using PixInsight and following a LightVortex tutorial step by step.

I have a dilemma but don't know enough to know what to do, all suggestions welcome. 

The dilemma is this, I have 7 filters, L, R, G, B ,Ha, SIII, OIII but only a 5 position filter wheel and it drives me mad swapping filters so I'm thinking of upgrading to a 7 filter wheel but would be expensive. 

I intend to produce this style of NB image with Golds and Blues rather than include green and I'm wondering if I can get this effect using Ha and OIII only rather than SHO?

If so I can manage with a 5 filter wheel by using Ha in place of L - i.e. R,G,B,Ha,OIII.

So I guess the question is, If I want to produce Gold / Blue NB images does SHO or HO give the best result ?

Thanks

Jon

IC1805 Heart Nebula SHO.jpg

• Like 8

That's a very nice image.

Why don't you experiment processing your data using just the five filters and see if you like the results?  Plenty of lovely HOO images out there...

I must admit that I had the same issue and got fed up with constantly having to change the filter carousel; I always seemed to have the wrong filters on the rig so in the end I bit the bullet and upgraded to a seven filter wheel and i am really pleased I did...

• Like 1

You’re going to have to experiment mate. However, ultimately a good reason to ensure always buy a seven position filter wheel.  This is not always possible of course if you have a big chip camera and are using 2” filters.

• Like 1