Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Carte du Ciel - sudden jump

gajjer

Finally I get round to using EQMOD and Carte du Ciel. I have never used either before. I was really chuffed when I got to point at a target and the scope went off and found it. Small adjustment then Sync and off to another target and repeat.

With the moon out last night I wasn't able to image the target I wanted to but I was happy having a little slew around. Later I changed to a different scope ( different focal length ) and repeated the targets and Sync.

Then when I slewed to one target, the concentric circles slewed to the target as did the scope, then right at the end the circles jumped up from the selected target ( I would say it jumped a distance about the diameter of the concentric circles ). Tried again and it did the same thing. Baffled!

Now, there are several possibilities I can see. One target required a meridian flip. I was looking mainly round that area. Did changing the scope cause a problem, trying to resolve two lots of sync. Was I right to save settings on shutdown? If I use a different scope next time does it start from scratch on alignment?

So:

1: What is the likely cause of the jump?

2: How do you scrub previous alignment if you change scopes

3: Does the alignment get saved for the next session.

I have a fixed pier, but remove the scope and pack away after each session.

Hope someone can help.

gaj

• Like 1

How are you connected to the mount (which is ?), direct or via the handset ? One thing that comes to mind is the existing sync points, force the mount to move. I don't use them & just plate-solve on each target, much easier, as long as you've mastered plate solving.....

8 hours ago, gajjer said:

1: What is the likely cause of the jump?

2: How do you scrub previous alignment if you change scopes

3: Does the alignment get saved for the next session.

1. EQMOD adjusting CDC RA/DEC to pick up on N-point alignment data maybe ? I have had this  too!