NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher 130P am I doing something wrong?

Hi everyone, firstly apologies if some of these questions are a bit obvious I'm a total novice who bought a Sky Watcher 130P Reflector telescope on an EQ2 mount for my daughter.  Classed as an F5 it came with a 2xBarlow, a Super 10mm and Super 25 Wide Angle Long Eye Relief, Red dot finder and a collumator.  I purchased this as My daughter is fascinated by the moon especially as well as being able to see Jupiter and Saturn (not in any great detail but at least the bandings)  I'd read that this scope was best suited to planets rather than nebulas and I happy with that as my daughter is mainly interested in planets.
I can confirm that the scope is put together correctly, balanced and collumated. (thanks Youtube for the tutorial).  We tested it out on the moon and just wow, blown away. We got up very early and found Jupiter and have to say was less than impressed.  We first used the 10mm to get it centered, added the Barlow, even swapped the 10mm for the 25.  The best I could get was something just bigger than a fuzzy marrow pea with no detail just a very bright disc.  The mount is weighted down well as I've read some comments that its a bit lightweight so I'm not nudging it.  I've seen some reviews where banding has been observer on Saturn so I'm unclear what is the issue here.  Am I expecting too much from this scope? Are the eye pieces sufficient? As I said a complete newbie any help you can offer is welcome.  (anything to stop my daughter winging :) )

Hi there and welcome. 

Sorry to read your disappointment but,  while the newton is an excellent all rounder, it's not the most indicated scope for planets, due to its fast aperture ratio / short focal length. 

So, despite the barlow, you'll never get from it a very large image of the planets: Maksutov Cassegrains are better in this respect due to their longer focal lengths for the same aperture.