Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Canon 650d Remote WiFi Control??

Paul73

Hi Guys

I would like to control the above camara remotely from my laptop (no leads - 30 feet max). Turns out that the Canon EyeFi just downloads images by wifi and doesn’t support control of the camara. Typically for the 750d onwards you can do the whole lot from your phone!!!

Anyone found a workaround that doesn’t cost the earth?

Paul

Could you connect it to a stick PC with wi-fi and control it ( Backyard EOS) from up the garden with your laptop......  said stick can also do other low demand computerised tasks as well...

I'm saying this like I'm an expert,  ha !!!, but I've think I read and seen others do this..

4 minutes ago, happy-kat said:

Android app DSLR controller may do it using phone/tablet WiFi to camera to control picture taking.

The problem is that the advertised WiFi is just a data download function with no ability to control the camara.

12 minutes ago, Paul73 said:

The problem is that the advertised WiFi is just a data download function with no ability to control the camara.

DSLR Controller is great I use it with an OTG cable to my phone as my 1100d didn't have WiFi, but your camera does so why not see if it would be what you are after. Canon are open in design for people like the chap who wrote DSLR Controller or the people who write Magic Lantern do clever things with Canon.

49 minutes ago, happy-kat said:

DSLR Controller is great I use it with an OTG cable to my phone as my 1100d didn't have WiFi, but your camera does so why not see if it would be what you are after. Canon are open in design for people like the chap who wrote DSLR Controller or the people who write Magic Lantern do clever things with Canon.

Hi Guys

I use Canon WiFi adapter for my Canon 600D

Works like a treat

Can set for instantaneous or 2 second delay when imaging