NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Light Pollution Advice

Hi all, I have recently gone to the trouble of building my own computer controlled barn door tracker, which I'm happy to say works well even with a zoom lens, anyway here in the UK near Birmingham light pollution is terrible. I recently stacked 138×20 second exposures of the andromeda galaxy, which worked great by far my best photo yet, but I'm somewhat disappointed that 2/3 of the galaxy is missing as a result of bad light pollution. 

What I'd like to know is, is it worth taking hundreds of light frames to resolve the fainter detail or is this simply not possible, I read somewhere that you can't get any light fainter than the light pollution it's self, therefore pointless trying. But others say hundreds of exposures is the way to go with light pollution.

Can someone guide me on what I should do tips and tricks would also help as I'm a beginner and willing to learn thanks. Arran

andromeda stackedfirst.jpg

2 hours ago, Arran townsend said:

I read somewhere that you can't get any light fainter than the light pollution it's self,

That is simply not correct. You can get decent images from heavy LP if you get enough total imaging time. I'm guessing you took above image from Dudley?

Here is what andromeda looks like with ~20h total exposure from about same LP levels (maybe tiny bit less LP, but very small amount):

m31-color-v4-optimized.png

As you can see - capturing faint detail was not a problem in this image. Granted, above image was captured with scope and cooled dedicated mono astro camera with filters, but still same applies - get enough exposure and faint details will show.

Here are couple of pointers.

When did you take above image? Is it recent work or some time ago? Always go for objects that are near zenith or crossing meridian at the time of your session. Don't go for objects too far east or west. Image "seasonal" objects.