NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Panic at the disco, belt modding HEQ5

Anthonyexmouth

OMG. Ok just completed my belt mod, very simple procedure. But panic ensured during testing, we'll get to that in a moment.

Have an issue, well maybe, with my RA. Got a little slop on the worm gear. Have added a video.

As for the panic. Got it together, dusted off my pristine hand controller. Used only once and then I started cheating on it with the lovely Eqmod. 

Switched everything on and warnings, both axis not responding, now I'm no newbie with repairs, disassembly and all that jazz, so I was convinced I had been careful with the plugs and not damaged anything. Half an hour later and much plugging and unplugging and a few choice words I decided to try the laptop and thankfully all is golden again. No idea why the hand controller is sulking. Anyone experienced this?

Any ideas of other mods to take this slack out of the worm gear? Do I need to do anything with it?

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That part is not related to belt mod. Its backlash in worm / worm gear assembly. It can (and should) be adjusted.

I think two things can be adjusted and you need to pay attention to both - first is worm / worm gear distance - you need to get that "spot on" to minimize backlash but also to prevent seizing. There is bolt on the other side of worm gear - you need to adjust that as well to prevent any slack in worm gear.

Look into this tutorial on how to adjust it for RA (when you are at it - adjust DEC as well if there is any play in it):

http://www.astro-baby.com/heq5-rebuild/heq5-we1.htm

The link above is exactly what you need. I have just stripped mine down and replaced all bearings using the guide in this link.