Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Mains Power

I am just a beginner and looking for advice on mains power for my setup. I have a

Skwatcher ED 80 with a .085 Flattener.

Skywatcher evo 50 Guidescope fitted with an Atik GP camera.

On the scope I will fit a Canon 80d

I am thinking of a Dribox with  a 4 gang plug extension protected with an RCD plug socket. A  240-12v cigar type transformer with a splitter fitted to take the mount power and the dew heater. Power for the Laptop would also be plugged into the extension in the Dribos as would a powered USB hub and dc power for the Canon. I would be grateful for any feedback as to whether this would be a sensible setup. Also any suggestion as to how Laptops are protected from dew. Thanks in advance.

It will be interesting to see suggestions. I ran my setup from mains for a couple of weeks with an RCD at the source and dribox but in the end was not too comfortable with it as things can get rather wet overnight. 

I found this thread to be extremely helpful so worth a read though. I've now gone with a regulated power supply and run a 30m 2.5mm cable outside. For PC I've just gone with a very long usb3 cable and run everything from my desktop inside.

The laptop will keep dry in use from self heating. If you disable the various power saving settings (screen blank, disc shutdown etc) that will help it to stay dry.

The danger to the laptop comes when you go indoors. The computer will be cooler than your house and houses are very humid places.

If in doubt, power down the laptop and immediately put it on a radiator for an hour or two.

Hope this helps, David.then power it down

18 hours ago, Carbon Brush said:

The laptop will keep dry in use from self heating. If you disable the various power saving settings (screen blank, disc shutdown etc) that will help it to stay dry.

The danger to the laptop comes when you go indoors. The computer will be cooler than your house and houses are very humid places.