Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Barlows with t-ring adaptors

I'm looking to get a Barlow for my scope that I can attach to my camera. 

I'm very new to this and have only recently got my first scope. 

The telescope focuser is 1.25 and I want to make sure I'm getting the right Tring and Barlows. 

I'll be attaching it all to a Nikon d90 and a Konuspace 114mm Newtonian with a focal length of 500mm. 

2 hours ago, Louis D said:

I've got both 1.25" and 2" versions, and both work great for attaching cameras.  That way, you can look for a high quality 2x barlow independently of whether or not it has T-threads.

Same here, too.

Then if you want to add an eyepiece for 'afocal' imaging at a later date, then you will need an eyepiece projection unit (epu).

cropIMG_0386.jpg.c91450af54af870709286c710e543243.jpg

My epu, made by Beacon Hill Telescopes, (other brands are available elsewhere), is behind the eyepiece with the brass top and in front of my ETX105.

2 hours ago, Louis D said:

I've got both 1.25" and 2" versions, and both work great for attaching cameras.  That way, you can look for a high quality 2x barlow independently of whether or not it has T-threads.

This makes good sense. Thanks 

2 hours ago, Cornelius Varley said:

An alternative method would be t mount nosepiece adapter plus a barlow of your choice.

I don't want to order the wrong size Barlow or t-ring. 

If the focuser is 1.25 what size Barlow and Tring should I get ? 

I found these online - which I think would work but not sure... 

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Telescope-Camera-Adapter-1-25-Extension-Tube-T-Ring-for-Nikon-DSLR-Metal-DC619/152998742983?epid=7018601397&hash=item239f6f8bc7:g:8XQAAOSwUxhbMhSx:rk:1:pf:0

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Orion-08711-Shorty-1-25-Inch-2x-Barlow-Lens-with-T42-thread-adapter-Buy-It-Now/382302963030?epid=2257554259&hash=item5903084556:g:cyMAAOSwVF1aJtc0:rk:2:pf:0

30 minutes ago, Leon-Fleet said: