Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

skywatcher 200p Goto synscan

Good evening all,

It's been a pleasure reading all your reviews from a novice point of view and worth while trawling through all the pages on this site. Now for your sound advice please. I have always been interested in astronomy and now in a position to buy a desent telescope. I have been looking at the skywatcher 200P goto synscan EQ5 which is at my top end of my budget of £600. Is this worth buying or is there something else out there that that would be better. All the reviews I have read say this is excellent value for money, good quality and what I should buy as a first timer. The scope I buy should also suit a 15 yr old who is mad on astronomy.

thanks in advnace of your response.

Jsmail

Hi

I am no expert, but I would also recommend this scope. I only image but this is just about the right size for moving around and setting up for one person, any bigger may be difficult. So far I have not had any problems and really enjoy using it. If you intend to image in the future, I would suggest getting the EQ6 mount if your budget stretches to it :)

The 'scope is fantastic, you'll get a lot of use out of it (weather permitting), but if you can stretch to the HEQ5 version it will be even better. The EQ6 will be overkill on that 'scope, but will allow you to upgrade the 'scope and use the same mount for almost anythiing you can think of. The HEQ5 will be fine with the 200mm 'scope plus guide 'scope plus camera etc.

If yo can't stretch the budget, then the EQ5 version would be good as well.

Have you considered the non-goto (upgradeable later) HEQ5 version as an option?

Kaptain Klevtsov