Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Concrete Pier, Brake Discs, Bolts..... Questions

Hi All

I’m just in the process of planning a concrete pier for the garden, a budget affair, a metal air con pipe with some drilled Vauxhall Corsa disc brakes on the top to take my HEQ5. I’m a newbie at all this so just wondering what people would advise regarding the numbers of nuts and threads to connect between the pier top disk and the mounting disk ?

Obviously I’ll need some space underneath the mounting disc for the main mount bolt, but I’m guessing the more threads/bolts connecting the discs, and the closer together these discs are, the sturdier it will be ? Or doesn’t it make that much difference ? Also how many bolts would be ideal for adjustment and levelling, I see lots of people online just use 3, but is there any benefit in having more to make things sturdier ?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

The only reason to have some space under the mounting plate would be to attach the mount.
Levelling is not an issue, because level is not needed with an EQ mount, so keep it as close together as possible and with more, thicker threads to make it as rigid as possible. Be sure to get the concrete footing below the frostline and use a sort of pyramid or cone shape.

Probably more work than you think...

1 hour ago, Waldemar said:

The only reason to have some space under the mounting plate would be to attach the mount.
Levelling is not an issue, because level is not needed with an EQ mount, so keep it as close together as possible and with more, thicker threads to make it as rigid as possible. Be sure to get the concrete footing below the frostline and use a sort of pyramid or cone shape.

Probably more work than you think...