Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

(Traveling) Getting into Astronomy, what to consider

I want to understand and confirm a few things:

A beginner here, If I want to get into Astronomy I will have to travel to less light polluted areas like fields, remote areas etc...

--------

What should I consider when I travel to completely dark areas with a giant 8" Telescope and a car?

Proper protection for the telescope is priority no. 1.

What about safety? Does anyone of you addicted stargazers wear any kind of protection/weapon against potential danger like animals, thiefs, murder? (sounds crazy but you never know).

--------

On top of it while we are here already, an 8" telescope is enough to view nebulas in full beautiful color & good condition ? (<-- No stacking, just viewing with a telescope).

No weapon needed here but I have a mobile phone and everyone know where I have gone and what time I am expected to return.

An 8 inch dobsonian is more than adequate in dark skies - I speak from direct experience. You won't see much colour in nebulae (I see a bit of colour in M42 Orion nebula) if any at all, but you will see more 'detail', such as dust lanes in galaxies such as M31 - Andromeda galaxy - and globular clusters such as M13 (Hercules cluster) have stars visible to the core. The lack of light pollution will make it easier to find faint targets.

With plenty of fuel in the tank, torches (always good to take two) good breakdown cover, a bit of food and drink and plenty of warm clothing is important. Fortunately I drive out to places I could easily walk home to if there were any issues.

Make sure you bring everything you need for a good session such as a sky map, red light torch, your favourite eyepieces and check your scope is collimated before you go (I collimate the scope on site although the 8 inch telescope does hold collimation well if carefully handled) and you will have an unforgettable experience. :)

12 hours ago, Beulah said: