NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

White Crescent in Helios Apollo 15 x 70?

Hello All,

I hope I'm not missing a thread where I introduce myself.  I'm Dave.  I am an electrical engineer and I live just outside a small village near the city of Wolverhampton, England.  I have been a casual binocular observer for about 7 years now, using whatever I could lay my hands on.

I had the great pleasure of meeting Steve Tonkin at the recent Solar Sphere in Mid Wales.  Thanks Steve if you are reading this - your talks were the highlight of the weekend for me.  I hope you'll forgive my slight incoherence when I introduced myself - the previous night's observing was taking it's toll by that point!  Steve's talk on binocular astronomy (and the subsequent acquisition of the second edition of his excellent book) was the push I needed to upgrade from my Opticron Oregon 11x70.  I have managed to purchase second hand a Helios Apollo 15 x 70, pretty much the binocular of my dreams.  The seller was local to me so I collected it from him - a very nice chap who had looked after the binocular with loving care.