Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Bubble in Ha (Atik 16ic)

Aza

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks guys

I really want to upgrade to a better camera as I dont think I can get much more detail with this one. Something with a 285 chip perhaps :D

I was trying to sharpen it a bit, but couldnt get a result I was happy with.

i generally find sharpening difficult?

its the 285 we use for our narrowband stuff.

its superb really,

exceptionally low noise (darks arent neccessary even for 30min exposures, as long as you have a few for averaging)

0.55 QE peak, with 0.5 Ha and 0.55O[iII]

it really is a great sensor!

a joy to use

Cheers man :D

I am a beginner with no knowledge of all the specs and stuff.

But I hear good things of this 285 chip and the price is in the range I would hope to spend.

So then its really what makes one cam better than another when they use the same chip.

Maybe its the QHY2 then, if its based on the cooling. Plus I think its the cheapest of the ones I have been looking at.

hi aza,

i have had a look at the 3 cameras you have mentioned.

basically the full well depth of a pixel is goiverned by the physical size of the pixel. The 6.45um pixels offered here have a relatively low well capacity of 27500e-, according to specs I read on the internet. This value seems to produce decent numbers when I have analysed the read noise and dark current.

The important ability for a camera, particularly for a sensitive camera like these, is to have a high dynamic range. Dynamic range is a measure of the fainest and brightest sugnals that can be imaged simultaneously. The brightest signal is equivalent to the well depth 27500e-, and the faintet signal is the read noise, which varies from camera to camera.