Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

PHD2 guiding

Hi all..after a bit of guidance from the more experienced please..im very new to guiding..not quite comfortable with it yet as I've only done it a few times..im sure my settings are wrong somewhere but can't see where..last night I had some big bumps in the RA, as I've never seen them before and stars in the subs didn't quite look as I thought they should I ran the guiding assistant and applied both RA and DEC recommendations..it said PA was 0.01 out on RA and 0.03 in DEC but after applying the RA and DEC was at .51 in the box on the left of guide graph..

Any ideas?

I will add that guiding subs were worst than unguided subs..

20170828_224928.jpg

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It is difficult to comment given that we can only see a portion of the screen.  Assuming that you have the 'scale' set to around 4", then I would say that the bit of the guiding graph you show is outstanding.   Your reported PA is also excellent.  In the lower left corner, PHD2 should report your guiding error.  I don't think that the correction pulses that are being sent are anything to worry about especially (except perhaps ... see below).  

Two things occur.  Firstly, your SNR is somewhat low at 7.1.  I usually end up with an SNR of more than 100 (often more than 200), but that is partly down to my guide camera.  Even when I was using a ZWO though, I was getting 40+.  The low SNR might be an issue.  Can you increase gain (or maybe exposure time) on the camera, or pick a brighter star?