SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Rosette Nebula Ha-OIII-RGB with an ED80 - help me settle this one

graemlourens

Hi everybody.

I can't seem to get to a point to be happy with this target. And probably i'm trying too hard and expecting too much, but before i go and finalize everything i'd love your opinions.

I have a three good masters, Ha, OIII and RGB, whereby i have chosen the path of first making an bi-color Image, and then pulled the star color of the RGB image to the bi-color image (separate thread discussing the ways to combine RGB & bi-color data here: 

I'm not 100% sure about having RGB stars in a bi-color image, but it the blue stars (or rather purple, as my scope squints!) give a nice contrast to the dominantly red ha, don't you think?
The thing bugging me the most is the red. As i've used mostly HA as LUM, the red is turning pink. I'm able to pull the saturated red back in PS, but i'm also not happy with that either...

I'm also not sure how far to go with Contrast enhancement. As the data is strong, i can go very far, but then it looks unnatural... trying to find the correct point to stop, so it does not look over-engineered.

I've looked at the image for too long, and i need some outside input! :)

All thoughts warmly welcome!

NGC22372.thumb.jpg.bab6ab9df47db49a4d0bb94f35b32d42.jpg

Kind regards, Graem

12 hours ago, Droogie 2001 said:

Very nice. I don't see much wrong with that, it has a real 3d feel to it.

Thank you for your kind words!

7 hours ago, Adam J said:

Nonsense I love RGB stars in a bi-colour image.

My only comment is that I would personally bring the OIII balance up a little more as its a little H-a dominant to my eye.