Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Camera attachment advice

Hi, I'm new to telescopes and find myself here because my 6 year old son who is autistic has an interest in the universe so I purchased a celestron astromaster 130eq as a starter to feed is interest. As a result I found an interest as well, sparked my childhood interest up again.

I want to photograph the heavens. I have a cannon 350d and want to be able to connect it to our telescope. I also want to be able to use the full benefit of the telescope and EPs.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for an adapter that will allow me to use the EPs and camera..?

thanks in advance.

G0MZS 

Hi UKvegas and welcome to SL. :)

You need a T2 lens mount and telescope adaptor like this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/T-T2-Lens-Mount-Adapter-for-Canon-EOS-SLR-Camera-1-25-034-and-Telescope-Adapter-/251456240632

But you may have difficulty focusing a dslr with the Astromaster due to the length of the focuser tube. It's also more usual to use 2" accessories with dslr's rather than 1.25" - but for a tenner it's maybe worth a stab at it just to see what you can get.

Unfortunately deep sky astrophotography isn't so easy as "point and click" - you need to do many long exposures and then combine them with software - it's quite an involved procedure. You also need an accurate tracking mount with good polar alignment, plus usually a guide scope, guide camera, and guiding software on top.

You may have more luck initially having a go at planets with a webcam. A £20 investment in the book "Making Every Photon Count" is an invaluable guide to astrophotography. Hope that helps and good luck. :)

On 2017-5-14 at 15:31, brantuk said:

Hi UKvegas and welcome to SL. :)

You need a T2 lens mount and telescope adaptor like this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/T-T2-Lens-Mount-Adapter-for-Canon-EOS-SLR-Camera-1-25-034-and-Telescope-Adapter-/251456240632