Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Another Newbie!

Hi everyone 

I have just joined!

I am looking to start a little astronomy , its something I have always fancied and now is the time to take the plunge.

I am sure you have many posts like this asking about which kit to buy, I haven't just joined and posted without doing a little of the work myself, however I seem to have only confused myself even more after spending a long time last night reading through many posts on this page.

I am completely new to this, and I am looking to buy a set up, and would be grateful for your advice.

My Budget is flexible, I was thinking up to £500 but happy to go over for the right set up, also be happy to spend less if it gets me a set up to suit.

I work away from home during the week in a motorhome and I thought this would be an ideal hobby to take up to keep me occupied on the lonely nights away from home, I am therefore looking for something as quick and easy as possible to set up and also something not too hard to use, bearing in mind I will often be in different locations.

unfortunately I am the type of person who if its too much of a "faff" to set up I probably will not bother, (I know this isn't a good attitude to have but I am just trying to be honest)

I would also like something i can use at home at the weekend with my 5 year old daughter who shows a fascinated interest in everything! especially chocolate.

After reading many of the posts last night, I was going towards the Heritage 130p after reading so many good things about it, however the lack of a tripod is putting me off, I am not sure how I would cope when away in the van during the week!

I also have a pretty good Nikon DSLR camera which I don't use much, (don't know how to if I am honest! lol) but I am wondering if this can be incorporated into the kit for some images at a later stage?