NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New to sky watching

Hi I'm new to having a telescope I just got a AstroMaster 70AZ for my birthday a few days ago and was wondering what I can buy to improve my experience looking at planets such as Mars and Satrun, I noticed I can see the planets but if I try to zoom in the picture get weird and out of focus with my 10mm eyepiece and my 20mm, even with that issue I get a nice view of stars.

Hi, welcome and Happy Birthday.

First off, you must realize that you cannot "zoom in". How "big" everything appears (magnification) is not determined by the large rotating knobs on either side of the scope - they are only for adjusting the focus. The magnification you get is determined by the combination of the focal length of the scope (basically the length of the tube, 900mm in your case, but be sure to look it up for yourself) and the focal length of the eyepiece you are using (either 20mm or 10mm). To know the magnification, you divide the focal length of the scope by the focal length of the eyepiece. So you get either 900:20 = 45x or 900:10 = 90x. You use the focuser to get the view as sharply focused as you can with the eyepiece you are using, and that's it.