Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Viewing the sun

Hi,

lim new to all this, so I don't know if this is a stupid/dangerous question?

I have a Celestron nexstar 130slt, what I was wondering was, if I buy some baader Astro solar film and make a filter to fit on the end of my scope will I be able to use it to view the sun?

like I said, I'm new to this so sorry if this is stupidly dangerous!

any advice appreciated.

Gareth

Hi Gareth,

Yes, you can use the 130SLT for solar viewing with a suitable filter over the front of the scope. According to the specs your tracking computer even has a solar setting to allow you to track the sun accurately :smile:

Please spend some time reading the safety advice available on this site and elsewhere on the web before attempting to do this.

You can make a filter yourself or buy one like this if you are not sure what to do.

Stay safe :wink:

Derek

To paraphrase a well-known saying US-side, Yes You Can.

Come on in, Gareth, and enjoy observing the star in your back garden.

IBut since you stress that you are 'new to all this', it might be worth adding that the Baader solar film will give you good views in white light - i.e. sunspots and, if conditions are good, some granulation. The more experienced the observer, the more can be seen.

You will not see the prominences (explosions of plasma on the sun's limb, or edge) or filaments that are the bread and butter of solar images in magazines - not to mention the images from talented SGL members. To see those solar features requires dedicated equipment.

Nevertheless, I repeat, come on in.