Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQ5 Altitude setting prior to balancing.

Firstly apologies if this has been asked before. I have done a search but nothing jumped out at me! As a complete novice I am currently trying to set up my newly delivered EQ5 mount. The rather poor instructions which came with the mount suggest it should be balanced with the mount adjusted to altitude of between 15 and 30 degrees.

At first I though the mount was faulty as I could not move it at all for the altitude adjustment however reading through other posts on the forum it is clear that this adjustment is very stiff and so with a bit of brute force I managed to move it between 30 and 65 degrees. (I did not used the 'T' bolts) My concern is that the mount will not go lower than 30 degrees (or higher than 65) as it appears to come up against a solid end stop. This is clearly not a problem in use as my latitude is 54.009 degrees. However, if I am to balance the kit using an altitude below 30 degrees as stated above this can not be done.

I hope this post makes sense and I would appreciate any comment. Is this relatively narrow movement to be expected?

And just one final question for now!! I have read in posts going back to 2010 that the adjustment bolts are made from soft metal. Does anyone know if this is still the case and if so would it be wise to purchase better quality bolts?  

Many thanks.