Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter on 21.3.2016

Chipela

I started practicing planetary imaging just a few days ago and this is my second try on Jupiter. First night didn't go that well but I think this came out very nicely, what do you think? :)

Two questions:

Do you think Powermate 5x would work with my 6" scope and give a bigger and better image or would that just lead to a bigger but softer image? I.e. is my setup already resolution limited?

Do you see any immediate problems in post processing?

Best regards and thanks!

--

Very good seeing, Skywatcher 6" f/5, Televue Barlow 3x, ASI120MC, Firecapture + AutoStakkert + RegiStax + Photoshop

jupiter.jpg.c2f67a0f6dbfaf5810a7fcca0757

Sorry, can't answer your questions but just wanted to say what a great image that is with a 6" scope. 

Will be interested to read other replies as I'm looking to buy a Barlow or power mate to give me planetary imaging capability (been mainly DSO and lunar so far). 

Once again, great image v

That's a really nice image, well done .

I believe the ASi works best at f20 to f25 so a 3 x gives you f15 and the 5x f25 so possibly too much . 

You could try an old Barlow with no lens as an extension after the televue maybe ?

The distance between barlow and sensor increases magnification a bit ...

It's amazing what one can do with quite modest equipment!

I think the biggest single factor (with this image) was great seeing, I was able to keep 50% of the 5000 image stack so there is quite much fine detail.