NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

M42 Orion Nebula - I know it's common but it's my first attempt!

sagramore

Hello everyone - this is my first post in this subforum. I did put this image in a specific "130-PDS" thread but I hope that putting it here for greater exposure is okay? If not, mods, please let me know and I apologise!

I very recently bought myself a 130-PDS and NEQ6 Pro in order to start astrophotography "properly" - I upgraded from a very cheap Skywatcher ST80 on EQ1 with added clock drive, this was limiting me to around 15-20 second exposures and it was a HUGE pain to align and centre any target at all. I still don't have any guiding yet, but I simply love this scope and mount combo and I can't wait to get a guide cam to piggyback the ST80 for longer subs. 

Anyway, enough story - here is my first real attempt at M42 and pretty much my second ever photo with this new setup. I'm really happy with it given my suburban location, lack of guiding, and lack of general experience with taking and processing photos! Thank you for looking and I appreciate any comments or advice too. I actually took three separate photos using 30s, 60s, and 120s subs then stacked and processed each one. I then took the resulting three photos and did a manual merge in Photoshop to make a sort of "HDR" composition. It isn't perfect and I think I can probably draw a bit more detail out of the core, but I'm glad I did it because the 120s image alone was completely overexposed and the 30s image alone lacked a lot of the nicer details.

Practice makes perfect!

Great Orion Nebula (M42, M43) and Running Man Nebula (NGC 1973/5/7)
2016-03-07, near Swindon, England

Gear:
Skywatcher 130-PDS with 0.9x coma corrector (585 mm, f/4.5)
Skywatcher NEQ6-Pro Synscan (unguided)
Canon EOS 550D (unmodified)

Acquisition:
- AstrophotographyTools (APT) using APT dithering (unguided)
- 15 x 120s, 17 x 60s, 20 x 30s = total 57 minutes @ ISO 800
- 33 flats + library bias & darks