Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Star alignment

HI to all.

I am new to astronomy at age 70yrs.

I have bought a Sky Watcher star discovery 150mm with synscan version 4 goto  reflector. 

My query is this. I am somewhat confused and am getting conflicting advice.

Once the initial 2 star alignment is carried out is it necessary to do the alignment every time I use the scope. Some tell me it is and others say it is not necessary.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in anticipation.

If the scope is left in the same place, then the previous alignment will work, if its packed away then provided the tripod can be place in the same spot then Polar Alignment will be good enough and just a 2 star align to get the GoTo working will be good enough, this is for viewing, Imagine would need PA as well....

I think this is your telescope's manual. The relevant section begins on page 17.

From a quick scan, I understand that have to align the telescope each time you turn the power on. Per observing session you use the hand controller to point the telescope to that night's targets. This does not require a new alignment per target, as long as you don't move the tripod or turn off the power.

So, you'll need to align once at the beginning of each observing session. 

Good luck! 

Mine's a Celestron - similar arrangement I believe.  Set it up, level it, enter date and time, then do the alignment process.  It stays aligned and tracks thereafter.

As others have said, if you move it, you have to do it again.  Ditto on your next session.

(Mine remembers the lat/long, so I don't have to enter that info every time.)

Don't forget though - you don't have to align it every time and use GoTo/tracking.  You can just aim it and move it round (with the motors) as you please!

Doug.  

18 hours ago, dreamcatcher said:

HI to all.

I am new to astronomy at age 70yrs.

I have bought a Sky Watcher star discovery 150mm with synscan version 4 goto  reflector.