Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

setting circles

Hi all,

When looking for objects to view through the telescope, do you manually find the object using the finderscope or use the ra/dec coordinates on the mount. I'm new to telescopes and would like to learn the best way to use it and use the different features ie setting circles. I've had a look on youtube and on internet but it seems a bit of mixed opinions. Some say they are the best thing since sliced bread whilst others say they are just fancy decorations.

I'm confused.

Hi Leo82,

On all but the best mounts setting circles are all but useless for finding things in the night sky. Not sure what mount you are using / referring to but the setting circles are normally used by people to orientate their mount to achieve good polar alignment, when using a polar scope that is fitted to the mount.

The majority of people star hop to find stuff. This is done by ensuring that your finder is properly aligned to your scope. Centre a known star in the finderscope, then using a pocket star atlus or planetarium program like stellarium or Cart du Ceil hop from one star to the next to find your chosen object

Sent from my Fone

A mount used for setting circles will be equatorial, so it will need to be polar aligned and the observers latitude set. Then set the RA circle according to the time or find a known object (using the finder scope) and then set the RA circle to the known objects RA. Then other objects should be able to be found by their RA and DEC. However whilst a lot of modern mounts have the RA and DEC scales on them they are not generally accurate enough for finding small objects. This is usually because of the small diameter of the circles. On my HEQ5 the circles are 75mm diameter and give a certain margin of error. A mount designed for setting circle use will have larger diameter circles such as 200mm.