NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

what did I see?

leo82

Hi all,

I'm new to this hobby so please bear with me.

I left for work this morning at 6am and looked up at the sky. It was still dark and there were no visible stars. To my right there was the moon but to the left were 2 bright objects, one under the other and slightly off centre. Were these venus and jupiter?

I would appreciate any replies you may have.

If they where towards the East then yes it was Jupiter and Venus also with Mars very close to them too.

If you don't have it already then download Stellarium. It is a real time Sky atlas and the good news is it is Free.

Pat

Thanks for the reply Valleyman.

Yes the planets were to the east. I didnt see mars but I only observed with the naked eye and I live in a built up area so I guess light pollution probably didnt help. Would I be right in thinking mars isn't a bright planet and was easily missed due to this?

@mrspock & Michael I guess they are only a glimpse of whats out there, buts its great even just to see the bright spots actually knowing what they are.

@Valleyman thanks for the stellarium info. I will check that out now.

Yes the planets were to the east. I didnt see mars but I only observed with the naked eye and I live in a built up area so I guess light pollution probably didnt help. Would I be right in thinking mars isn't a bright planet and was easily missed due to this?

Yes, Mars is quite dim at the moment. It's also lower in the sky then Jupiter & Venus, so is going to get washed out by the dawn twilight at 6am - If you should happen to be up at 5, you will probably be able to make out Mars, even under you LP you can see it with Naked Eye. 

@rockystar I get up at 5am. While i'm drinking my morning coffee I shall go outside and take a look for mars, it will be nice to see another planet and take my tally up to 3! At this rate i'm gonna need some optics sooner rather than later.