Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginners Telescope : Table top or not ? or stick with binos?

Hi,

I am quite new to Astronomy but spent the last year or so stargazing with simple 7x50 binos at the night sky. I am reasonable confident to find may way around the night sky now and would like to "upgrade".

Currently I can find the Andromeda Galaxy with my binos but it is "extreamly" faint and I can only see it because I know where it is supposed to be. But I really struggle to find/see M13.

This could be because I live in lightpoluted London or because of my cheap binos .. not sure ....

So my first question would be: Could I expect to see M31 and M13 better with a starter/beginners telescope or better binoculars OR would they just amplify the lightpolution so I would not see much of an improvemnt ?

(Not sure if my current problem is really the light polution or the equipment).

Now to my telescope related questions:

I had the chance to look through some telescopes recently and noticed that the finderscope seems to be always  mounted for dominant-right-eye people. I would like to use my left eye and noticed that you seem to be able to rotate

the OTA on some/most telescope.

My questions is : Do people regularly rotate the OTA to have finderscope or eypiece in a convinient position or is this adjustment done not very ofter during a stratgazing session.

Just trying to find out if you are meant to rotate the OTA a lot or if  you should touch it only infrequently.  Or is there a standard way to mount an additional finderscope to a place where its more convinient for dominant-left-eyed people ?

How important is it actually to be able to rotate the OTA ?

The telescope I tried had a 6x30 Finderscope and I found it hard to use. So my next question would be. Is a red-dot finder a better finder for beginners ?

So when I searched for potential telescopes to by I looked at :  1) rotate-able OTA  2) red-dot-finder included  and ended but with