Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Digital Setting Circles for my 12" DOB...HELP....

+1 Bought mine direct from Oz, with encoder kit for SW 250px. Easy then to switch to my 15" with another encoder hw kit. Great accuracy, super sweet to align <1min, no levelling or anything!

I've no experience of any other system, but just to say - very happy with AN :)

Does feel like cheating - lots of satisfaction from persisteent hunting to find a new target, but wow it means I see much much more in a short session. Really beginning to love it.

Having used both AN and the Nexus/SkySafari, I would go Nexus every time. It is so much easier and quicker finding things, particularly more obscure doubles etc

That looks really cool: truth be told I never looked at this option prior to going the AN route.

I've had the nexus since 2012 and used it on my OO 10" first. It was incredibly accurate and fantastic to view the scope and night sky on an iPad screen and use sky safaris "highlight observing list feature". I've set it up on my Sumerian and again I wouldn't do without it. With the Sumerian the altitude isn't quite so accurate but I know how to allow for minor errors so it's still indispensable. Although I think this is due to my scope rather than the nexus and I'd have the same problem with Argo Navis. I can't work out exactly the problem but I suspect either my altitude encoder isn't exactly in the correct place or the altitude arms aren't perfectly semi circular. As the arms on the Sumerian don't extent to a complete semi circle it's harder to position the encoder in exactly the right place. Either way the Nexus is still a brilliant bit of kit.

Having used both AN and the Nexus/SkySafari, I would go Nexus every time. It is so much easier and quicker finding things, particularly more obscure doubles etc

That's the first comparison between the two I've read about Stu so thats very good info. :)