NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Brand confusion

Hello all,

I just got this scope from a seller on the forum (I added the Orion 50mm finder to it) and I am confused on the branding

Skywatcher 80ED Black Diamond

I see it advertised as either "SkyWatcher Black Diamond 80ED f/7.5" or "Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro"

The names are different but the specs are the same, they also physically look quite the same. On the Skywatcher website there is only the "SkyWatcher Black Diamond 80ED f/7.5" advertised so I wonder where the "Evostar pro" come from ? are they the same scope ?

Haaaa an Evostar with a paint job then ? :)

I am a complete noob I lack the 'historical knowledge' of the different scopes and brands ... Not so long ago I could not tell an SCT from a Newt so ... Still a lot to learn ;)

The "Pro" tag seems to be the name they coined for the range of ED refractors plus the 150mm and 180mm maksutov-cassegrains when they had the gold / off-white colour scheme.

My guess is it is all sales spiel at the end of the day. I constantly laughed at V6 technology in Dyson vacuums and Gillete Mach3 turbo razors amongst others. Do these people even know what a turbo is ?? Either way they are all buzz words to make us the consumer think we are getting more than what we are. Black diamond or PRO as long as the spec is the same they are going to be the same scope. Synta's favourite is often a colour change to sell the same scope under new allure.

My guess is it is all sales spiel at the end of the day. I constantly laughed at V6 technology in Dyson vacuums and Gillete Mach3 turbo razors amongst others. Do these people even know what a turbo is ?? Either way they are all buzz words to make us the consumer think we are getting more than what we are. Black diamond or PRO as long as the spec is the same they are going to be the same scope. Synta's favourite is often a colour change to sell the same scope under new allure.