Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First Telescope - Dobsonian

Hi Everyone

I'm new to astronomy and after much deliberation i decided to get myself a telescope

I've ordered a Skyliner 150p Dobsonian

I have read some very favourable reviews about this scope and as it is primarily for viewing (not astro-photography) it sounds like a good choice

Also it was in the sale!

Another pro in my eyes was its a Dob and comes on the standard mounting, so should be easy to set up and use

It comes with 2 eyepieces 10mm & 25mm

My question is really is there anything else i need? or can i jump straight in?

Does anyone have any recommendations for star maps or finders to help navigate? and any must read books/websites to get going?

Cheers for any help :)

Will.

Hi  Will,

Warm welcome to SGL. That's a great choice of scope for starters, especially at a sale price.

A couple of books to help you round the sky are 'turn left at orion' and 'sky&telescope pocket star atlas'. When you have ten mins download a planetarium program, plenty out there but try Stellarium, its great and free. To be found here  :--- http://www.stellarium.org/  ..

Give yourself a chance to use the scope before buying further eyepieces etc, find a local astro club ad go along to their meets, and see what others have and what accessories may suit you best.

Enjoy the new scope.

Hi Will and welcome to SGL.

The scope you have/will have is indeed a very nice choice. When it arrives and you assemble it, you are pretty much ready to go. The first obvious thing to do is check the collimation. Loads of great advice here about how to do it and what not. You really shouldnt worry about upgrading eyepieces or anything in the immediate future. Just get used to using your scope.

You can download a program called Stellarium which is free and its very useful. A great book to buy is Turn Left At Orion. I believe the latest version includes objects to find and be seen through Dobs.