Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tips on using the HEQ5 pro

Hi,

I recently bought the HEQ5 pro mount and I'm struggling to use it. I thought it would have been abit user friendly ( maybe it is but I'm new to this tech) does anyone have any tips on how to do an alignment I'm in the southern hemisphere (sydney) would a 2 star alignment be enough? Or do I need to get it to the south celestial pole before anything? Any help would be awesome.

Cheers

Tony

Hi Tony

Well done on getting a great mount.

It will all seem very foreign for a bit. That is normal. Have a good play with it all in the day time so youbget a bit more used to it, as it's awful trying to do these things for the forst time in the pitch dark.

The manual isn't the best, bit do read it twice.

What you need to do is:

Set it all up

Balance the scope in both axes

Polar align

Then do a star alignment (one, two or three)

Then you are good to go

Some people polar align before putting the scope on, but i feel this risks knocking things, but for basic visual you don't need bang on polar alignment.

There are three articles on the sky at night webaite on setting up an equatorial mount, have a read of them too:

http://m.skyatnightmagazine.com/feature/general-guide/equatorial-mounts-part-1

Are there any adtro groups near you? Getting someone to goover this stuff in person makes it all SO much easier.

Good luck and i hope it brings hours of enjoyment.

James

Polar alignment needs to be done first and the southern hemisphere will be more difficult than for us in the north - I am sure there will be some on-line tips on how to point your polar axis towards the South pole.