Which Telescope

I've just joined the forum today in the hope of some advice on which telescope to buy my son for his 7th birthday. Would the telescope at the following link be any good? Also, as I'm a photographer it would be nice to be able to attach my dslr to it to get some images too. My budget is upto £200 so any help/advice would be much appreciated. 

Thanks

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Skywatcher-Startravel-80-400-Accessories/dp/B00G53UQQY/ref=pd_sxp_f_pt

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

At 7 likely a nice easy to use scope, short and wide, kind of find anything in it.

Attaching your DSLR is the problem.

Yes you can, other then the moon you will not get much out of it.

Unfortunately the stars move, and are dim.

By the time you have collected enough light they have made big streaks all over everything. You are looking at exposures of 30 seconds to 600 seconds and that is for the brighter objects (not moon)

For this you need an equitorial mount and one that is driven by motors.

So yes the scope will be easy for your son, however getting pictures is not reaslly an option.

Hi

That is my setup I keep at my Mum's.

It looks like what a telescope a 7 year old probably expects.

It is not huge and too big and for you make a great portable grab and go.

You can use a webcam to create images of the Moon for example I think I needed an extension tube to use my webcam.

Yes I can attach my dslr but have made a simple counter weight to balance the telescope and camera. But don't expect great quality. I do need the extension tube here. Great for the moon.

However there will be chromatic aberration on the limb of bright objects, but for me I don't find it too troublesom.

My better eyepieces show less CA.

The mount means no long exposure is possible on stars but it is easy to use and has slow motion controls.

A longer tube telescope would show less CA as would be slower and also potentially take more magnification.