NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Celestron Nexstar 8SE - Additions

Hello! I'm a newbie to the astronomy game but wanted to buy a piece of kit that should cover most of the bases from the outset. After hours and hours of research and looking at a few forums I have just taken the plunge and ordered a Celestron 8SE . 

What additional kit would you recommend as 'essential' with this scope please so I am not dissapointed when the skies eventually clear!?

Thank you :grin:

Fabulous OTAs - mine is the 8SE just changed the mount.

As for essential extras, they all are aren't they... BUT I would recommend a Hyperion Zoom as the supplied EP will not give a range of mag and the SCT is an absolute planet killer when you get towards 200x mag.  Then at some point a 2" diagonal with a 2" eyepiece for the lower power stuff.  Filters are worthwhile but they can wait (and I would go for neodymium first).

The above are not essential but really do add a lot to the scope.  The immediate essentials are definitely dew control (band and dew shield), and power source - avoid the powertanks and look at the leisure batteries instead.

Most of all - enjoy it.  I have spent many an enjoyable hour with mine and still find the views fantastic compared to other scopes I have looked through

A dew shield and power tank are absolutely necessary - probably a red led torch as well, though you can always put red cellophane or something similar over an ordinary one.  You have only one eyepiece with the scope so the Skywatcher 7 - 21mm zoom is at around £40, for a zoom, a very good and cheap one to enable you to get started with different magnifications.  Once you have used the scope and got used to it, then is the time to start thinking about other eyepieces and probably a decent Barlow.  But take it slowly otherwise you will end up confused and with items that you don't really need or use.