Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

prime focus photography

mak90fan

Hi. I have had success imaging the moon using my Canon 300d dslr at prime focus: Scope to T-ring to Camera body. so now, how can i increase the magnification for close up shots of the moon? I guess i am missing something that is obvious or has a price tag attached :) Thanks for any advice...

For the moon and planets you could use a 2x barlow, it comes with greater magnifications too.

but maybe it messes with your focus distance, what is your telescope? i'm still a beginner too(can't even say a beginner :) ).

other people here may give better advice with more information about your rig.

You don't really get magnification with imaging but that's being pedantic as I know what you're getting at. Focal length and sensor size is what determines how 'close up' your shots will be i.e. how many pixels a particular detail will be spread across and how many of the details the whole image contains. A barlow would have this kind of 'magnifying' effect, a standard skywatcher one is T-Threaded so might be handy.

The image will be less bright with a barlow but on the moon this should not present a problem. If you already have one with your scope it is at least a cheap way to have a play!

If you want to investigate focal length and sensor size more, this link is useful http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm

cheers

Chris

Hi. I have had success imaging the moon using my Canon 300d dslr at prime focus: Scope to T-ring to Camera body. so now, how can i increase the magnification for close up shots of the moon? I guess i am missing something that is obvious or has a price tag attached :) Thanks for any advice...

What scope are you attaching your camera to? Will help people to give you an informed reply