Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Pros and cons of mounting a dslr directly onto a Baader Hyperion ep?

Hi folks,

One of my eyepieces is a Baader Hyperion, which has a thread for a t-ring. So... if I wanted to I could mount my DSLR directly onto this lens for photography. I've never tried this, but I've noticed that pretty much none of the other ep makers offer the same feature.

Is there a good reason why the other manufacturers haven't added a thread for a t-ring? I wonder whether it's not considered a great way to do imaging, or is there some other reason?

Of course, I might be missing something - do any other ep makers have a thread for a t-ring?

I realise the obvious thing for me to do is to try imaging with it - and when the skies offer the opportunity I will do just that, but I really am an absolute beginner when it comes to imaging, so my results won't really give me any indication of the true value of the arrangement.

Many thanks

Wishing you clear skies and warm feet

Tony

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I use my 5x Powermate and DSLR all the time together. As to your other question well that's what makes TeleVue so innovative. They simply think better and see with better eyes.

Hi Tony,

The Hyperion lenses have an M43 thread, not the same as T-2, you will need an adaptor.

The method you describe is known as eyepiece projection and can be used to good effect... although more generally used for terrestrial photography, such as wild life etc.

It can be used to good effect with planetary/lunar photography though.

The only problem you may have, especially for planetary, would be image size... you may find you need to include an extension between the adaptor and the t-ring which will increase the available image size.

see attached PDF... 2nd setup from the left at the bottom.