Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Explore Scientific 20mm 100 degree eyepiece any good?

nitram100

Hey guys, 

I have a 14mm 82 degree eyepiece from Explore Scientific and it works really well in my below telescope. 

I am thinking about purchasing the 20mm 100 degree, I was wondering would the increase in degrees from 82 to 100 increase the risk of showing really bad coma? I don't seem to notice any on the 14. 

Thanks

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've owned the ES 20mm / 100 and I now have a 21mm Tele Vue Ethos. Very little difference in performance that I can see in all honesty. There will be some coma in an F/4.8 newt (it's a feature of all newts) and I saw just a touch right out by the field stop with my 12" F/5.3 but nothing intrusive at all. Great eyepiece and very immersive, especially with the rubber eye cup rolled down :smiley:

I opted for the ES 18mm 82* instead of the ES 20mm 100*....now I regret that choice, not that the 18 isn't good, but I settled when I shoulda listened to that little voice in my head saying it would the right way to go........the ES 9mm 100* is my most used EP........the Televue Delos series would be a good choice too, especially below 9mm or 10mm....smaller fov, but more contrast and brightness that even the Ethos...for distant dim fuzzies, just what the Dr ordered...

A well-corrected, 100 degree eyepiece at anything over 20mm in an f/4.8 telescope is going to show a hell of a lot of coma.

That's just an assumption. in my f/4.9 the 20mm showed very minimal coma. On the other hand, some eyepieces showed a horrendous amount of trailing and astigmatism.

That's just an assumption. in my f/4.9 the 20mm showed very minimal coma. On the other hand, some eyepieces showed a horrendous amount of trailing and astigmatism.