NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Bresser (Meade) AR-152L (AR6) 1200mm f7.9 Review (part1)

sbooder

arriv4.jpg

I will start by informing you that this is my first refractor that has not been a birding scope so I have no other experience to compare it to other than my knowledge of reflectors.

I bought this scope for three reasons, 1, I have wanted a 6" frac since I was a young boy that first looked through my Uncle's one and saw Saturn. 2, I want to spend more time on the Moon, not that a Newt can't deal with the Moon because of course it can but like many of us we have heard that a frac is better for Luna and Planetary observing, which is why my third reason seemed a good time to test this theory...3, it was going very cheap!

It arrived in good time and well packaged in a double box and supporting foam half supports both top & bottom. It comes supplied with an 8x50 finder scope, hinged one piece scope ring with Vixen style dovetail, 1.25" star diagonal, and a 26mm Plossl.  In addition you get a Planisphere, a CD (with Stellarium and User Guide) and a printed User Guide.

arriv2.jpg

The optics were sparklingly clean and from what I can tell so far well aligned, although trying to do a star test in either Southern England or Northern France has yet to yield the sort of out of focus concentric ringed image all the tutorials show.

I am sure at some point I will have to collimate this scope which again will be a completely new experience for me, but the objective on the scope come provided with a very extensive set of collimating screws and hex bolts and can be adjusted in both angle and up & down directions. The only weak point in the train of collimation I can see is the all too familiar focuser flop as this scope comes with a R&P focuser, the ability to change is limited (I will get to this later).