NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Advice for a newbie please

Hi All

I am very new to this and only registered with SGL so please bear with me but I would really appreciate some advice. 

I currently have a Skywatcher Heritage 130P...I say 'have' but it's currently at my sister's house (her husband is keen on watching the skies) in a different part of the country. 

This leads on to my query as I would like to get another telescope that I can use in my back garden as I don't visit her very often. I I live in Bristol where light pollution is a real pain and limited with my options as I don't have transport. My budget is around £150. 

I would like to try a refractor scope this time aound but after spending most of this morning reading through the forums, I'm not sure if that is the best thing to do due to the light pollution issue. 

If it doesn't make much difference then the two Skywatcher scopes I've seen so far are the Mercury 705 and the Evo Star 90 (EQ2). I'm not too worried about DSO but would like to be able to see planets etc.

Many thanks in advance

You get more value per money on a reflector than a refractor..........and much better colour. A cheap refractor will nearly always show to much false colour, go for a reflector..........check out the online auctions you should easily get a half decent scope that way. I picked up a 6" reflector for £85.