Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Use of Low Magnification in LP Area

Hey guys

Since I'm new to the hobby I was wondering, is a low mag less than 69x useful in a light polluted area? What is the main purpose of a magnification lower than that? (in deep sky areas or lp areas). Just wanted to get an idea if I need a lower mag than 69x

Thanks

Daniel

Being able to use low magnification is pretty essential I'd say, when you're trying to find stuff. I live in London and went looking for M81 and M82 in the park. The LP isn't the worst, but it's hardly what you'd call dark skies. At x16 with a 3'' aperture, both galaxies were easy to find, very visible and in the same field of view. I could then up the magnification to find the supernova in M82. Low power for finding stuff, medium to high power for observing it.

DD

I have an entry level scope which came with budget 20mm (x32.5) and 10mm (x65) EP. Now to try and find anythign with the 10mm is a very time consuming job. Even finding something as bright as Jupiter takes a long time and still takes a little while with the 20mm. I know some people use EP with a much wider FOV to 1 degree which this 20mm gives me and I can understand why. If you're looking for a faint object in the sky and need to star hop the wider the view the better. Since bought a 2x Barlows to add to it.

I've also found that often looking at object with the 20mm is far kinder on the eye and often more enjoyable.

There are also other things to consider like atmospheric conditions. I've read posts on here lately where people can't focus or see any detail at high magnification, simply the Jet Stream was over them at the time and had to use a lower powered EP.

The first thing I always have in the scope is the 20mm.