Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

total newbie needing help

Ok so I have my scope Skywatcher explorer 200p
set it up on the mount and pointed it towards Jupiter but all I'm seeing is the spider veins and the secondary as a shadow
with a lit background, if I move off target its black so i'm assuming the light is Jupiter and my collimation is out
or I'm missing something, tried using the supplied 10 & 25mm lens and the scope & lenses have been outside for over an hour so

should be acclimatised

any help appreciated

Hi Ya Oldpink and welcome to the SGL, a very nice scope you have there.  Its just a focusing issue, when you centre the target in the eyepiece, turn the focuser and the target will get smaller and bigger depending on which way you turn the focuser, keep turning, as the object in the eyepiece gets smaller and smaller, try and focus on the two dark bands that go across the centre of Jupiter, these need to be at their darkest, checking on the edge of the disk, this becomes a crisp focus against the background sky, if your focused on a star then keep turning until it becomes the smallest point of light and other stars appear in the field of view.  Hope that helps Oldpink and keep at it mate.   Paul.

Hi and welcome to SG

It sounds to me like a focusing issue as opposed to collimation, as has been suggested, somewhere in the range of focus you should find the correct distance from eyepiece to secondary mirror - I take it you just have your 1.25" eyepiece adaptor fitted, silly question I know, but it sounds as if you could be restricting the focal range somehow

Phil

Ok so I have my scope Skywatcher explorer 200p

set it up on the mount and pointed it towards Jupiter but all I'm seeing is the spider veins and the secondary as a shadow

with a lit background, if I move off target its black so i'm assuming the light is Jupiter and my collimation is out